

Contact: Erin Crady Director of Marketing and Communications (859) 276-2291, ecrady@toba.org

TOP OWNERS, BREEDERS TO BE HONORED AT 28TH ANNUAL TOBA NATIONAL AWARDS DINNER

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association's 28th Annual National Awards Dinner will be held on Friday, September 6 at Fasig-Tipton in Lexington, Ky. The TOBA National Awards Dinner honors the achievements of Thoroughbred owners in the four major North American racing regions and breeders in 21 states and Canada.

The following regional owners will be honored:

Eastern Region Owner of the Year: Godolphin

Midwestern Region Owner of the Year: John and Debby Oxley

Southern Region Owner of the Year: Brereton Jones

Western Region Owner of the Year: Reddam Racing, LLC

A National Owner of the Year will be selected from the regional owners. The National Owner will only be revealed at the Awards Dinner.

The state and Canadian breeders of the year are:

Triple AAA Ranch: Arizona Terry C. Lovingier: California William D. Graham: Canada

Ocala Stud: Florida Team Block: Illinois

Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer: Indiana

Allen Poindexter: Iowa Morton Fink: Kentucky

Coteau Grove Farms: Louisiana

Dr. and Mrs. Thomas Bowman: Maryland

Patricia Moseley: Massachusetts Campbell Stable: Michigan

Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick: Minnesota

Gunsmith Stables: New Jersey Triple AAA Ranch: New Mexico Barry K. Schwartz: New York Nancy C. Shuford: North Carolina Leon and Karen Glasser: North Dakota

Jack and Margaret Root: Oregon
Franklin G. Smith: South Carolina
Audley Farm Equine: Virginia

Karl Krieg: Washington

TOBA's National Breeder and National Small Breeder of the Year will be selected from the above list of breeders and announced at the Awards Dinner.

TOBA will also honor Gary Biszantz with the Industry Service Award. Owner of Cobra Farm and committed to improving racing, Biszantz served for four years as TOBA chairman and for six years on the American Graded Stakes Committee. In 1999, Biszantz was elected into membership of The Jockey Club, formerly served on the board of directors of Breeders' Cup Limited and was a past director of the Thoroughbred Owners of California (TOC). He is also devoted to Thoroughbred aftercare, serving on the board of Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA) for several years. Biszantz is a past recipient of the TCA Industry Service Award and owns Tranquility Farm, a Thoroughbred rescue, rehabilitation and retraining facility in California.

Additionally, TOBA will honor Lisa Danielle, dam of Wise Dan, as the National Broodmare of the Year. This award offers catalog designation from the North American International Cataloguing Standards Committee.

Owned by Alex Jayne, successful competitive show jumper Thomas Edison will be named the Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year. This award is presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred racehorse that has excelled in sport horse competitions as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.

National Awards Dinner sponsors include OCD Pellets, Xpressbet, Kendall-Jackson Wine Estates, Woodford Reserve, John Deere, Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC, Flair Nasal Strips, Fasig-Tipton, Daily Racing Form and Blood-Horse Publications. Tickets for the National Awards Dinner may be purchased at www.toba.org.

TOBA, based in Lexington, Ky., was formed in 1961 and is a national trade organization of leading Thoroughbred breeders and owners. TOBA's mission is to "*improve the economics*, *integrity and pleasure of the sport on behalf of Thoroughbred owners and breeders*." Projects managed by TOBA include the American Graded Stakes Committee, Claiming Crown, Ownership Seminars, Ownerview.com and the Sales Integrity Program. TOBA provides international representation for U.S. owners and breeders on the International Grading and Race Planning Advisory Committee, International Cataloguing Standards Committee and International Breeders Federation. Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA) is the charitable arm of TOBA. TOBA is

the owner of The Blood-Horse Inc., and is represented on the Board of Directors of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association and the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium as founding members.