

# **Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders Association**

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Monday, September 8, 2014

Contact: Carrie Vaught Director of Membership & Marketing (859) 276-2291 cvaught@toba.org

# Kenneth & Sarah Ramsey and Take Charge Lady Top Winners at 29<sup>th</sup> Annual TOBA National Awards Dinner

Lexington, Ky. – The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association honored Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey as its National Owner and National Breeder of the Year at the 29<sup>th</sup> Annual TOBA National Awards Dinner on Friday, September 5. Take Charge Lady was named National Broodmare of the year and TOBA also recognized the achievements of Thoroughbred owners in the four major North American racing regions and breeders in 22 states and Canada.

The four finalists for National Owner of the Year included Phipps Stable (Eastern Region), Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey (Midwestern Region), Willis Horton (Southern Region) and Gary and Mary West (Western Region). Robert Meyerhoff was honored as the National Small Breeder of the Year.

The Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year award was presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred racehorse that has accumulated the most points in competition, as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation. Katie Ruppel's Houdini received the award. Also, Helen Alexander received the Robert N. Clay Award. In partnership with the Equine Land Conservation Resource, this award recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

The evening's awards ceremony can be viewed at <u>www.bloodhorse.com/tobaawards</u>.

The State Breeders of the Year were honored at an awards luncheon at WinStar Farm on Friday prior to the awards dinner.

A complete list of winners is as follows:

## **Regional Owners of the Year:**

Eastern Region: Phipps Stable Midwestern Region: Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey Southern Region: Willis Horton Western Region: Gary and Mary West

#### **State Breeders of the Year:**

Arizona: Richard Owens California: Mr. and Mrs. Larry D. Williams Canada: Sam-Son Farm Florida: Gil and Marilyn Campbell Illinois: Darrell and Sadie Brommer Indiana: Deann and Greg Baer Iowa: William Hobbs Kansas: Lance and Valerie Gabriel Kentucky: Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey Louisiana: Glen Warren Maryland: Robert Meyerhoff Michigan: Jerry and Lisa Campbell Minnesota: Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick New Jersey: Quiet Winter Farm New Mexico: Mike Carson and Bill Carson New York: Patricia S. Purdy North Carolina: Elizabeth Muirhead North Dakota: Leigh Backhaus Oregon: George Hurliman South Carolina: Franklin G. Smith Texas: Sam Stevens and Sammy Stevens Virginia: Estate of Edward P. Evans Washington: Keith and Jan Swagerty

National Broodmare of the Year:

Take Charge Lady

**Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year:** Houdini

### **Robert N. Clay Award:**

Helen Alexander

National Awards Dinner sponsors include H.E. Sutton Forwarding Company, Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC, Jackson Family Wines, Woodford Reserve, Zoetis, John Deere, Flair Nasal Strips, Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group, OwnerView.com Thoroughbred Owner Conference and Blood-Horse Publications.

TOBA, based in Lexington, Ky., was formed in 1961 and is a national trade organization of leading Thoroughbred breeders and owners. TOBA's mission is to improve the economics, integrity and pleasure of the sport on behalf of Thoroughbred owners and breeders. Projects managed by TOBA include the American Graded Stakes Committee, Claiming Crown, Ownership Seminars, Ownerview.com and the Sales Integrity Program. TOBA provides international representation for U.S. owners and breeders on the International Grading and Race Planning Advisory Committee, International Cataloguing Standards Committee and International Breeders Federation. Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA) is the charitable arm of TOBA. TOBA is the owner of The Blood-Horse Inc., and is represented on the board of directors of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association and the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium as founding members.

###